Sometimes, You Just Need To Be Alone

Thought Catalog

Most of the time, we’re scared of being alone in any situation. We grew up in a belief that we have to have someone with us in everything we do; otherwise, we’ll be lonely or sad. Some even say that we should never be alone so that we wouldn’t be miserable. It’s as if our happiness is dependent on the company of others.

I grew up believing that. I thought that if I have someone with me, I’d never be lost. I thought that I’d be sad if I have no one with me. I thought it would be scary to be alone in a room. I’ve always thought doing something enjoyable by your lonesome meant nothing and useless.

Being with others became a way of forgetting what’s happening in our real lives. We used our friends as doors to close a room we should be entering to deal with…

View original post 265 more words

Leave a Reply

